Book Review: Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park

Title: Eleanor & Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre: YA, Romance

Rating: 3.5 stars

 

“There was something about the music on that tape. It felt different. Like, it set her lungs and her stomach on edge. There was something exciting about it, and something nervous. It made Eleanor feel like everything, like the world, wasn’t what she’d thought it was. And that was a good thing. That was the greatest thing.”

Eleanor & Park is about teenage love between two misfits, who feel like they don’t really belong in the place where they live at that time of their lives.

The story follows these two characters over the course of one year, when they are sixteen. A crucial point in a teenagers life, because a lot of changes happen at that point. This story tells about the way their love changes, the way their opinions change about each other and the people that surround them.

They know/ feel that the romance they have isn’t going to last, but they will do everything about it to make it last.

This book really had its ups and downs to me.

It started of great and really interesting. The writer got me very fast to the point that I wanted to know more about Eleanor and Park. There was humor, romance, fun conversations and some people I might hate. So that’s great for me to start a book. But when I was past the half of the book I got almost bored. The great start and interesting developments lacked a little there. But I hadn’t lost my interest so I kept on reading. From there on it went up and down with my feelings. The bad way: A mix of “okay nothing new.” The good way: “Oh no, don’t let that happen!” or “Yes, come on! I’m rooting for you.”

Those were basically my feelings thru the whole book. Another positive thing was that I loved the changes of point of view between Eleanor and Park during one event. It made it interesting, how they both feel and why they act in certain ways in the same scene.
One thing I can’t forget to mention. They referenced the song How Soon Is Now and it reminded me of how much I love Charmed where this song is played, in another version by Love Spit Love, but still it made me happy.

One thing that annoyed me a little thru the whole book: Eleanor is like super insecure. It’s okay to be insecure and I totally get her, but not all the time. Sometimes I felt like she was a bit to dramatic. That it felt too much.

“Did she miss him? She wanted to lose herself in him. To tie his arms around her like a tourniquet. If she showed him how much she needed him, he’d run away.”

I actually love this quote, but it’s a good example of what I got a little annoyed by, because this way of thinking happens a lot.

So this is why I gave it 3.5 stars. It was good. Would I be reading it again? Probably not, but I liked it and I think it’s a well written romantic story just to read when you might feel a little sad or nostalgic to those teenage years. Although mine were a lot different.

“He didn’t have bookmarklike feelings for her.” Good one Park

Leave a Reply

