Book Review: Tales of the Peculiar

Tales of the Peculiar

Title: Tales of the Peculiar

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre: YA, Fiction, Mystery

Rating: 4 stars

 

“Once upon a peculiar time…” 

Tales of the Peculiar contains ten stories. Each story contains a different peculiar story.
I must say, Ransoms Riggs did a great job telling all these stories. I think I even liked it more than Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children. This is so well written. Every story has its uniqueness. The drawings in this book are so amazing. I would love to have them somewhere hanging in my bedroom.

What makes this so great to me and I think to a lot of other people is that this is a stand – alone. You don’t have to read Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children to read Tales of the Peculiar. Second, this is a book that I would read to my kids (or when they are a little older, because like the Grimm tales they are not always happy stories). Tales of the Peculiar contains so much magic and well written stories that you could read it over and over again.
My favourite story is called: The Girl Who Could Tame Nightmares 
This one is a little different than all the other stories in so many ways. To me the thing I liked most about it is the darkness it contains. It’s that kind of darkness that I missed a little in the series Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children.

One more thing: I love that Millard Nullings wrote this book.

Leave a Reply

