Book Review: History Is All You Left Me

History Is All You Left Me

Title: History Is All You Left Me

Author: Adam Silvera

Genre: YA, Romance

Rating: 4.5 stars

 

 

I have all this history with you, Theo, but he has pieces of your puzzle that would destroy me if I ever had to put them together, and yet I still want them.

Four boys caught up in a complicated circle of love. When Theo dies Griffin, Jackson and Wade lose an important part of their live. They deal with grief all in their own way, but find unexpected company during the process. Their history is complicated and when this entwines with the present unexpected and dangerous truths begin to surface.

The story is told by Griffin. He tells the story to Theo who died during a drowning accident (This is no spoiler). Griffin tells about the history he had with Theo who was for a long time his best friend and later became his first love. The way Griffin tells the story is raw. It’s told in the most humanly, heartbreaking, complicated and brutally honest way. During his grieving process he has to cope with his OCD which gets worse. His seventeen and has to deal with a far to heavy weight that a boy should face at that age.

The way Silvera writes about grief and the small heartbreaks of love is something that doesn’t all come from imagination. This felt personal. Something close to his heart.

I braced myself when I came to the end of this book. I cried and thought a lot about what happened during Griffin’s story. It’s a story that leaves you questioning important parts in your life. The way you look at things. The last time I felt like this was while reading A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. It’s not that Silvera intentionally writes these stuff to crush your feelings. It all lies in the little things that happen during the story. Relationships end, but love doesn’t. Sometimes it’s about what they feel but not necessarily put into words.

I feel like a rock being skipped through the ocean—pain, relief, pain again, relief again, eventually destined to sink.

Luckily the story isn’t filled with only grief and the sad part about love. It’s funny, uplifting and warming. Silvera writes in a wonderful way about LGBT+ characters. No homophobia or terrible events about coming out. This story is filled with supportive parents and friends, intimate scenes without shame. Gay and bisexual represented in a beautiful way, which I am really happy about.

One night we argued for a solid hour over who would win in a duel between Lord Voldemort and Darth Vader. I’m surprised we’re still friends.

History is All You Left Me is smart, tender and raw. The characters were very relatable for me. I could find pieces of myself in every one of them. I recommend this book to those who love YA, romance and a great story about LGBT+ characters.

27 thoughts on “Book Review: History Is All You Left Me

      1. My pleasure! I’m halfway through The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, but I can’t say I like it 100%. :3 Still, the narrator of the audiobook is very talented. He was the one who played young Voldemort in Harry Potter. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a book I’m so eager to read because it seems like such fun! That sounds so awesome. The narrator is enough to convince me to listen to the audiobook. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. People everywhere are reading it nowadays. Hahaha. My only issue right now is the protagonist. But it’s probably just a personal preference. xD Speaking of Harry Potter, I have yet to read book 4. Tee-hee.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Pottermore has a Book Club going on right now. They’re currently on book 2. 🙂 I’m thinking of joining the read-a-long, but I’m not in a mood to reread HP now. Hahaha. I’ll probably wait for them to reach book 4.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Haha. I joined the Book Club, but I’m not going to read along because it will probably take too long to reach the fifth. Haha. But you should do that and I love the idea of the Book Club that is created on Pottermore.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. The old Pottermore placed me in Slytherin. The new one placed me in Ravenclaw. However, when I took the test again a few weeks ago, Slytherin was the result. I finally accepted it. Haha. Since you’re in Gryffindor, we’re probably enemies. lol

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Sworn enemies, hahaha. I should take the test again maybe the Sorting Hat will finally listen to me like he did with Harry and put me in Ravenclaw :p Although I love the idea of being in the same House as Ron, Hermione and Harry.

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I’m pretty biased to Ravenclaw because I identify with it’s nerdy traits. ❤ Hahaha you should try it again just to find closure. xD I agree with your point. Come to think of it, Hermione should have been placed in Ravenclaw. Huhu

        Liked by 1 person

      9. hahahaha 😀 but who else would you choose for Hermione. I think Cedric would’ve been a great match for Hermione. And I hope she still would be friends with Ron and Harry. Their friendship is legendary!

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Hehehe I sense a new ship sailing! ❤ Cedric and Cho Chang were…meh. :p I hope so, too! I saw a post before that JK Rowling regrets her decision to have Hermione end up with Ron. hahaha

        Liked by 1 person

      11. That reminds me, I have yet to watch Fantastic Beasts. I read the screenplay first in accordance to the book-before-movie policy. Hehe. Voldemort will probably make an appearance in the following movies.

        Liked by 1 person

      12. That movie was pure satisfaction for me. I had the chance to see the premiere in Belgium. The same moment when it premiered in the UK. It was an unforgetabble experience and we had live footage from the premiere in UK with the actors and Rowling herself ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

