Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic

A Darker Shade of Magic

Title: A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1)

Author: V.E. Schwab

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 5 stars

 

I’d rather die on an adventure than live standing still

Kell lives in Red London, Delilah Bard in Grey London, there is White London and once you had Black London. Kell is a traveler, a powerful magician who can travel between worlds. He is one of the few who can travel between the different worlds by blood magic. Kell lives in the palace, in Red London, with the king and queen and his “brother” Rhy. Apart from his life as a royal, he is also a smuggler. A hobby with dangerous consequences.

When an exchange goes wrong Kell flees to Grey London. He now holds a stone that is not as ordinary as it looks. Grey London is the only place without magic. The one where Delilah Bard lives. Kell and Delilah meet each other when she robs him and after that saves him. She forces Kell to take her to another world, for she is one that seeks adventure, and adventure she will have.

Magic is dangerous and the world contains even more danger than they expected. Treachery lies in every corner. To save the world, staying alive is essential.

“I’m not going to die,” she said. “Not till I’ve seen it.”
“Seen what?”
Her smile widened. “Everything.”

A Darker Shade of Magic is a story about magic, but one with a different look at it. The world Schwab build is perfectly made. It’s complex, but uncomplicated at the same time. She writes very smoothly, the story is fast-paced. I would’ve read this in one day if I had the time.

Kell and Delilah (Lila) have an amazing chemistry. They’re one of my new favourite duo’s. Lila is a character I grew fund of real fast. She’s straight forward, adventurous and has the proper amount of humor. Kell is different from her, because he has seen the world in a different way and together they are interesting to read about.

Every London has its rulers and the ones from White London are sinister and dark. That sinister and dark part are two things I loved about them. I always wanted to know more about them, to know where that darkness comes from.

“The bodies in my floor all trusted someone. Now I walk on them to tea.”

Fantasy is my most favored genre, but not an easy genre because to me world building is everything. Luckily Schwab did a great job on that. I would love to explain how the universe of the different London parts work, but I’m going to leave that for the reader to discover. It got me a little confused at first, but it becomes clear as the story continues. Victoria Schwab made the unbelievable believable. Plus, I want to have Kell’s coat which can change depending on how he wants to look.

An adventurous, fast-paced fantasy book. What more do you need?

38 thoughts on “Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic

  1. I’ve had this book for about a year now, but I still haven’t touched it. Huhu. Ironically, I have two more books by VE Schwab (which I also haven’t read). I might read Vicious first before ADSOM. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do read this book, because it contains some stunning magic and wonderful writing. V.E. Schwab is now one of my new favourite writers and I can’t wait to put my hands on her other books like Vicious and The Archived 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think the hype is having a reverse effect on me. Hahaha. Still, I want to form my own opinion. Do you own Vicious or This Savage Song? I’d like to buddy read a VE Schwab book. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have everything from the Harry Potter universe and Shades of Magic and The Glass Castle. If you have a book you would like to read I can always buy it, because in a few days I’m probably going to buy new books 🙂 Is there a way to have a private conversation somehow on wordpress? :p

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hahaha this is hard cause there are many books I want to read! Hmm…do you want me to give you a list of options? xD I think there’s no private messaging here. But we can do that on Goodreads or Instagram. I can’t access IG now though here at work. :p

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Okidoki. I’ll follow you on IG later at home. 🙂 I’ll probably pick fantasy/queer books. If ever, we could buddy read an e-copy of They Both Die at the End (by Adam Silvera). 😀 I’ll tell you the details later. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. It takes a lot of self-control. I just bought 5 books from Book Depository this week, but at least none of them were 2017 releases. Hahaha. See me give excuses for my bad behavior. xD What are the bookstores there in your place? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Hahahaha 😀 Good one 😉 I mostly buy online because it’s not always easy to find books written in English in my local bookstores. And if I have to wait for the translation in Dutch… Well that takes too long :p

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

