Filmish Friday #1

The first Filmish Friday! As explained on Bookish Monday, I will be posting three different topics of the Kingdom Paper thru the weeks. This one is, obviously, about films. I won’t be adding a release date because it may differ depending on the country you live in. You can always click on the (blue) links that will take you to IMDb where you can find the release date for your country or check at your local cinemas.

Films

Atomic Blonde

Atomic Blonde by David Leitch

Summary from IMDb

An undercover MI6 agent is sent to Berlin during the Cold War to investigate the murder of a fellow agent and recover a missing list of double agents.

Stars: Charlize TheronJames McAvoyJohn Goodman

Genre: ActionMysteryThriller

Why?

Charlize Theron ❤ James McAvoy ❤ I’m sold. A badass actress and an actor (accent) worth melting for… Well I honestly don’t care what this movie is about just gimme gimme more *cough* Britney Spears *cough* 😉 Okay if I’m really honest (do I have to?) than I would say that the trailer doesn’t get me hyped or warmed up to watch it, but I will, because the reason why is probably clear.


Dunkirk

Dunkirk by Christopher Nolan

Summary from IMDb

Allied soldiers from Belgium, the British Empire and France are surrounded by the German army and evacuated during a fierce battle in World War II.

Stars: Fionn WhiteheadDamien BonnardAneurin Barnard

Genre: ActionDramaHistory

Why?

Christopher Nolan is a GENIUS. One of my favourite directors, who makes masterpieces. To name a few: Interstellar, Inception, Batman Movies (although I’m not a fan of Batman, I have to admit he did a great job making them) So, Dunkirk is a no brainer for me to go and watch at the cinemas. I Just need to find time to get there… This will probably be one of my next film reviews.


Th Dark Tower

The Dark Tower by Nikolaj Arcel

Summary from IMDb

The last Gunslinger, Roland Deschain, has been locked in an eternal battle with Walter O’Dim, also known as the Man in Black, determined to prevent him from toppling the Dark Tower, which holds the universe together. With the fate of the worlds at stake, good and evil will collide in the ultimate battle as only Roland can defend the Tower from the Man in Black

Stars: Katheryn WinnickMatthew McConaugheyIdris Elba

Genre: ActionAdventureFantasy

Why?

An adaptation of a Stephen King book! In fact I have only read one Stephen King book (shame on me) but I do love the film adaptations of his books. I’m really looking forward to the new take on IT and scared at the same time. The Dark Tower seems very different compared to other stories from Stephen King, but that doesn’t mean anything. The trailer looks awesome and shows everything I need: mystery, fantasy, a little horror and great actors.

 

Leave a Reply

