Filmish Friday #2

My blog is one month online 😀 I’m happy how this blog turned out and I’m super excited of what the future might bring. Thank you for all the readers and thank you for those who will be reading in the future.

Welcome to the second edition of Filmish Friday!

Films

The Glass Castle

The Glass Castle by Destin Daniel Cretton

Summary from IMDb

A young girl comes of age in a dysfunctional family of nonconformist nomads with a mother who’s an eccentric artist and an alcoholic father who would stir the children’s imagination with hope as a distraction to their poverty.

Stars: Brie LarsonNaomi WattsWoody Harrelson

Genre: BiographyDrama

Why?

This looks like a beautiful compelling story. It’s based on the book of the same name. The cast shows some great talent. I’m curious because I’m going to read the book this month. I hope it doesn’t crush my feelings but I have the feeling I will have to brace myself for that.


Annabelle - Creation

Annabelle: Creation by David F. Sandberg

Summary from IMDb

Several years after the tragic death of their little girl, a dollmaker and his wife welcome a nun and several girls from a shuttered orphanage into their home, soon becoming the target of the dollmaker’s possessed creation, Annabelle.

Stars: Miranda OttoStephanie SigmanLulu Wilson

Genre: HorrorMysteryThriller

Why?

Horror is a genre that I’m always cautious with. There are so many films just about killing and trying to get people scared without a proper story. I feel like Annabelle kind of goes in that direction but they try to stick with the story. I appreciate that. It exists in the universe of The Conjuring films and especially the first Conjuring film is a great horror movie so I give the second movie of Annabelle the benefit of the doubt, although I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first one. I am a fan of horror films so I’ll be watching this one.


Ingrid Goes West

Ingrid Goes West by Matt Spicer

Summary from IMDb

An unhinged social media stalker moves to LA and insinuates herself into the life of an Instagram star.

Stars: Aubrey PlazaElizabeth OlsenO’Shea Jackson Jr.

Genre: ComedyDrama

Why?

This looks disturbingly funny! I hadn’t heard of it until I came across it by accident. When I watched the trailer I immediately wanted to go see the film. I know Aubrey Plaza from Legion in which she is awesome. The character she plays in here looks right up her alley.

Leave a Reply

